oh, Utah. Beautiful and Cruel.

It’s been 8 months since I’ve written, and I think perhaps its time to get back into the swing of things. Since I moved to Utah in July I’ve worked three different jobs, and have done a bit of traveling. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I moved out here. I heard the scenery was  beautiful, and that there was a pretty decent outdoor culture, but I did not expect to experience the discrimination I have since moving here. I suppose it was a bit of a culture shock, moving from a liberal tree-hugging city, where people (SHOCKER) recycle…. to one where wearing tank tops is frowned upon, and being an aggressive and intelligent woman is ground for cruelty.

I moved here because I was offered an opportunity to work at a residential treatment center & boarding school as a weekend staff. I was told I would have the opportunity to work closely with kids and plan outdoor curriculum, as an assistant to the weekend lead. Some of this held true, and I had an amazing experience working with and mentoring autism spectrum boys. However, I wasn’t given the respect any compassionate and intelligent person deserves. Certain staff members held my personality with disdain, which eventually led to my retirement from the school. I have never been utterly disrespected because of my values, beliefs, and ethics regarding basic human needs, and the pursuit of happiness. I’ve learned a lot since moving to Utah, and unfortunately have had to experience how awful people can be to one-another just because they aren’t willing to value and respect differences.

Since the school debacle, I took up working at two different ski resorts (and experienced yet MORE discrimination from one of them….) and have been accepted into graduate school out east. I cannot thank Utah enough for making me a ‘harder’ person, but also for letting me experience its undeniable natural beauty. I’ve gone from a ‘green circle’ snowboarder to a double black powder hound, and a novice climbing instructor to an entry level guiding professional.

I’ve explored a few different outdoor destinations since I’ve been here, and will (hopefully) catch up on some adventure writing this summer. Stay tuned.

About vanizzle17

Climber and Adventure Therapist.
This entry was posted in womens issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to oh, Utah. Beautiful and Cruel.

  1. Utah has been tougher on you than it has been me. Hopefully you’ll enjoy New England much more ❤

  2. 激安citizen シチズン

Leave a Reply

